Coordinated by the Prince Edward Island Writers’ Guild, a series of events and initiatives celebrating and supporting literary arts in the Cultural Capital:  Introduction of French student submissions accepted for the Island Literary Awards; an extensive Writers in Schools program connecting published Island authors with students in the two Charlottetown families of schools (30 school visits); and a compelling Literary event, the Pen & Inkling Festival (Sept 27 – Oct 2, 2011), featuring workshops, readings, the Island Literary Awards, songwriters’ circle, lectures, book launches, exhibits, and guest reading and lecture by one of Canada’s leading Native authors, Drew Hayden Taylor.

24th Annual Island Literary Awards Announce Winners

The 24th Annual Island Literary Awards Ceremony was held Sunday, October 2nd. This annual ceremony was the culmination of the Pen & Inkling Festival, a week-long celebration of literature and the literary arts. The festival included visiting authors, workshops, music and dancing, and was the second of its kind to take place in PEI.

200 people from all over PEI descended on the Guild on Sunday afternoon for the festival’s crowning event. This event was hosted by Fraser McCallum, Erin Casey, and Lee Ellen Pottie, who brought a bi-lingual element to this celebration. This year’s ceremony marks a historical turning point for the annual awards: the Island Literary Awards were able to welcome French language submissions for the first time in the Student Categories. This initiative was made possible due to the City of Charlottetown’s 2011 Cultural Capitals of Canada designation, and the PEI Writers Guild is seeking sponsors to ensure that French categories become an annual and integral part of these Awards.

The PEI Writers’ Guild would like to extend appreciation to The Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, the City of Charlottetown, The Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty, and all private sponsors who make these awards possible year after year.

Award Winners:

The Department of Education and Early Childhood Development Young Writers’ Awards
Honourable Mention – Aily Sho
Third Place – Sharlene Cao
Second Place – Danny Wartman
First Place – Conor Dever

Prix «jeunes écrivains» du ministère de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance
Troisième Prix – Jodi McNeil
Deuxième Prix – Melanie McQuaid
Premier Prix – Emma Hughes

The Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Young People’s Creative Writing Awards
Early Elementary Honourable Mentions – Hannah Doucette
Early Elementary Third Place – Jacob Doucette
Early Elementary Second Place – Katie Murphy
Early Elementary First Place – Cassidy MacNeill

Late Elementary Honourable Mention – Shelby Downe
Late Elementary Third Place – Brenna Howatt
Late Elementary Second Place – Marius Van Leeuwen
Late Elementary First Place – Abby Craswell

Junior High Honourable Mention – Victoria Huang
Junior High Honourable Mention – Annie Olivia Compton
Junior High Third Place – Matthew Milton
Junior High Second Place – Nick Scott
Junior High First Place – Jessica Walsh

Senior High Honourable Mentions – Catherine MacDonald
Senior High Third Place – Rachael Arsenault
Senior High Second Place – David Olson
Senior High First Place – Rachael Arsenault

Prix jeunesse de création littéraire du Club Rotary de Charlottetown pour jeunes Écrivains
Élémentaire 1re, 2e, 3e Mention Honorable – Samuel Harding
Élémentaire 1re, 2e, 3e  Troisième Prix – William Parent
Élémentaire 1re, 2e, 3e  Deuxième Prix – Madison Gagne
Élémentaire 1re, 2e, 3e  Premier Prix – Charles Parent

Élémentaire 4e, 5e, 6e Troisième Prix – Beatrice Masarabakiza
Élémentaire 4e, 5e, 6e Deuxième Prix – Stephanie Arsenault
Élémentaire 4e, 5e, 6e  Premier Prix – Alison Gagnon

Secondaire 7e, 8e, 9e Troisième Prix – Melanie McQuaid
Secondaire 7e, 8e, 9e Deuxième Prix – Alexandre Macdonald
Secondaire 7e, 8e, 9e   Premier Prix – Jacqueline Hughes

Secondaire 10e, 11e, 12e  Mention Honorable – Catherine Macdonald
Secondaire 10e, 11e, 12e Troisième Prix – Amanda Lowe
Secondaire 10e, 11e, 12e  Deuxième Prix – Catherine Macdonald
Secondaire 10e, 11e, 12e  Premier Prix – Lindsay Gillis 

The School Participation Award
English: Gulf Shore Consolidated School
French: École Évangeline

Honourable Mention – Susan Buchanan
Honourable Mention – Marcia Gardiner
Acorn Press: Third Place – Marcia Gardiner
Gary & Judy MacDonald: Second Place – Susan Buchanan
Acorn Family: First Place – Patti Sinclair

THE L.M. Montgomery PEI Literature for Children Awards
Heirs of L.M. Third Place – Margaret Weeks
Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Second Place – Susan Topping
First Place – Not Awarded 


Honourable Mention – Tom Marshall
Honourable Mention – Hannah Visser
Metro Credit Union: Third Place – Adelee MacNevin
Maritime Electric: Second Place – Shirley Limbert
The Investors Group: First Place – Susan Buchanan

Third Prize – Marlene Campbell
Cellar Door Productions: Second Place – Carol Little
First Prize – Melissa Heald

The Buzz: Third Place – Roger Gordon
PEI Literacy Alliance: Second Place – Thien Tang
The Guardian: First Place – Bonnie Stewart

The Réshard Gool Award
Recipient – Dylan Riley

1st Annual Young Writers Service Award
Yvette Doucette

Joseph Sherman Award
Matt Rainie

Award For Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts of PEI
Jane Ledwell

Related Post